Our 100 Things List

The idea of “bucket lists” or “life lists” is a pretty old one and Dayna has even gone so far as sharing a life list on her old blog. I had thought about putting a list like this together before but had only ever got as far as scribbling down some things I would like to do.

But being in the process of moving countries has been a good motivator to focus my thoughts on what I actually want to do and I also recently discovered Sebastian Terry’s story at www.100things.com.au which helped on the motivation side of things as well (this is where I got the term “100 Things List” which I prefer to other names just because it sounds so simple).

The result of my increased motivation is that I have finally committed to putting it all down and sharing it.  I think that sharing it will really help in actually ticking off all these things as well. It’s like if someone is trying to lose weight then that person is supposedly more likely to succeed if they tell all their friends about it right? Or is it the other way round and they should tell no one? Oh well, either way I’m sharing the list.

Dayna and I decided we would do a combined list since we will probably be doing all these things together and our individual lists would be very similar anyway. Plus it’s nice to have things on the list that I wouldn’t have thought of myself but am now really excited about doing.

Putting together a combined list has encouraged a healthy debate on a few items but we’ve compromised and settled on 50 things so far. Our main criteria for something to make the list is simply that we both have to be really excited about doing it with a focus towards difficult or challenging things, things that we might need to go out of our way for and those that will help one or both of us overcome a fear or phobia.

However some things are just fun stuff that we haven’t done and want a good excuse to make sure we do it. A good example of this is #30 Go paintballing – Dayna convinced me to keep this one on the list in case anyone is curious. You can also see Dayna’s influence on the list by the number of shark related items.  She is obsessed.  I’m surprised “live with sharks” or “get a pet shark” isn’t on the list to be honest.

And yes, we have noticed that the current list does not have 100 things on it. YET. Our plan is to add to it as we think of new challenges we want to do, new places we want to go, and as friends and family suggest other awesome things to add. Half the items on our current list are from what friends and family have done and a lot of others are inspired by other people so feel free to suggest anything else we should do! We can even make it our 200 Things List if we came up with enough although I think even just the first 50 will take us awhile.

We’re going to use the list as a motivator if we find ourselves having a hard day at work and need reminding of why we are saving money. And if we are short on travel ideas then we can always look back at the list to see what we’ve still got to tick off.

We’ll blog about all the things we cross off the list as we go so hopefully we build up a few good stories to look back on too!

Our full 100 Things List is going to live here but the first 50 are below (in no particular order). Let us know if you’ve done any of these and can give us some tips on how/where/when or just tell us how amazing it was!

  1. Drive on the Autobahn in Germany
  2. Swim with Whale Sharks
  3. Cage dive with Great Whites
  4. Carnaval in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  5. Trek up to Machu Picchu
  6. Volunteer at an Orphanage
  7. Visit Salar de Uyuni – the world’s largest salt flat in Bolivia
  8. Go to a U2 Concert (Dayna’s never been)
  9. Hand feed sharks in the Bahamas
  10. Visit the house Dayna’s Grandma grew up in in Glasgow
  11. Snorkelling in the Red Sea
  12. See a sunrise over Angkor Wat
  13. Go Ice Fishing
  14. Throw a Dart at a Map and visit the country it lands on
  15. Drive the Pacific Coast Highway in the US
  16. Swim in the Devil’s Pool on the edge of the Victoria Falls
  17. Go to the 2014 football world cup in Brazil
  18. Swim with Dolphins
  19. Go to Oktoberfest
  20. Fly somewhere in business or first class
  21. Spend a night in an underwater hotel
  22. Ride the Trans-Siberian railway through Russia and Mongolia
  23. Walk the Siq to Petra
  24. Go on a road trip around Iceland
  25. Ride a Camel in Marrakech
  26. Float on the Dead Sea
  27. Stay in an Ice hotel
  28. Have a tomato fight at Tomatina in Spain
  29. See a Great White shark breach in South Africa
  30. Go paintballing
  31. Visit Dayna’s cousin in Belgium
  32. Do some research to find and visit Matt’s UK relatives
  33. Grab a last minute deal for an unplanned international trip
  34. Go to Iguaza falls in Argentina
  35. Hike Cinque Terre
  36. See the Northern Lights
  37. Go to Atlantis resort in Dubai and ride the Leap of Faith slide (goes through a shark tank)
  38. Go on a Safari in Africa
  39. Drink Champagne in Champagne
  40. Trek the rainforest of Madagascar
  41. Do a Polar Bear swim or ice swim
  42. Go skydiving
  43. Visit the Arctic
  44. Visit every continent (South America, Antarctica, Africa, and Europe to go)
  45. Eat Gelato in Italy
  46. Go snorkelling in the open water in Thailand (and not completely freak out)
  47. See the Great Pyramids
  48. Swim in Ha Long Bay
  49. Go sailing in Croatia
  50. Trek along the Great Wall of China
9 thoughts on “Our 100 Things List

  1. Snap! Our lists are so similar, other than the bias towards all the shark things that you’d need to pay me to do. My further suggestions for now are… train through the Swiss Alps, island hop in Greece, climb Mt Sinai, hot air ballooning in Cappadocia, Turkey, go to a camping music festival and holiday in the Maldives. I’m going to live vicariously through you two 🙂
    x

    • Yeah, you’ve inspired a few of the things we already have on the list (you can probably tell which ones as you’ve done them!). The others you suggested sound pretty awesome too – I’ll have to look in to them more and add them to the list the next time we update it.

  2. These lists are always so fun. Love the one you guys have come up with! I’ve done a few of them (so far).
    #6 I did in St. Petersburg, Russia. It was absolutely incredible. Very heartbreaking, but a very cool experience that reinforced the fact that I want to adopt some day.
    #8 I’ve done numerous times, all over North America. Dayna knows how much fun I’ve had at these shows. Hope you guys get to see them someday!
    #15, although I don’t remember it too clearly. We’d do this every year while on our annual Spring Break vacation when I was in high school.
    #38 in South Africa. Absolutely INCREDIBLE! Seeing all the animals so close like that was unbelievable. It was a great experience.
    #42 I did in Hawaii. Best experience of my life. Doing it in a tropical location was SUCH a good idea! I had such an incredible view of all the islands and the ocean, and WOW!! So incredible.
    Have fun planning the rest of your list! 🙂

    • Thanks – it was pretty fun writing the lists and looking up all the things we want to do so I don’t think we’ll struggle too hard to get to 100.

      #6 – Dayna has always wanted to do this one in Romania and I would really like to do it in Cambodia so maybe doing it in Russia would be a compromise 🙂 We could even tick of an ice swim at the same time
      #8 – I’ve seen them once in Auckland (and it was AWESOME as you would know) but I really want to see them again (and going with Dayna for her first time would make it even better)

      I can’t wait for #38 but #42 I’m a little more nervous about (flying, heights, and hurtling towards the ground really fast are all not that high on my list of things I enjoy normally so this one will definitely be a challenge). A tropical location sounds ideal though.

  3. #4 and #17: so happy to see that people are interested on visiting Brazil!! 🙂 About number #4, I’d say you shouldn’t just think of Rio de Janeiro. Brazil is a huge country with a huge cutural diversity. Other cities, such as Recife (the one I’m from) has a colorful and multicultural carnival as well! It’s not only about Recife though: there’s our “sister” city, Olinda, which has great carnival programs as well. You guys can read some more about it here:

    http://www.carnaval.com/cityguides/brazil/recife/carnaval.htm
    http://www.recifeguide.com/culture/carnival-in-recife.html
    http://www.transparent.com/portuguese/carnival-in-recife/

    And about #17: Brazilians are so excited about the world cup!! We’re looking forward to it and hope everything turns out great! We have a few issues left to fix, as other countries, but the citizens are doing their best, even though many would much rather spend it on health care and education systems.

    Hope you guys get to come to Brazil on any of these ocasions, and I hope I helped. 😀

    • Thanks for the tips Laura. Very helpful to have a local’s view 🙂

      I can’t wait to go to Brazil and going when the world cup is on would be awesome (I’m sure all the little issues will be sorted out by 2014). I would like to spend a decent amount of time there so will definitely look in to Recife and Olinda for their Carnivals as well. Might take us awhile to research all the places we want to go there since it’s such a big country but we still have a bit of time before we go at least – we might have to make a few trips there.

      Thanks again for your help!

  4. Your list is great! We have done a couple of things on yours (or will be doing them next month!)

    I already have a bit of a list of my own, but it makes sense to have a joint list since most things, especially travel-related, Matt and I would do together. Your list actually helped me to convince Matt we should make one together – so thank you!

    • Thanks Kate. I’m guessing you might be doing a few of the Italian things next month then?

      Glad I could help you convince Matt to do a combined list – you’ll have to share it once it’s done so we can get more ideas!

  5. wow, you guys won’t have time to work! 🙂 I’m 50 something and I’ve only done 3 of your list, but I might have a few years left to do a few more…as long as the income continues to be in..coming…In the meantime, keep me posted and remain just a phone call away so my world remains smaller than it really is…and my nest is always open to some drop-ins…

Leave a Reply

