Why am I doing this?

Moving countries is hard. There are so many things to consider, plan, and sort through. It’s tiring, stressful, never-ending, and expensive.

I’m at the all too familiar point of wanting to throw everything out the window, move up my flights, forget about jobs and money and just GO already.

It’s at this point that I need to remind myself, why am I doing this?

My first real travel experience was when my friend, Danielle, and I decided we needed to get away from our little home town of Gibsons, BC, Canada. Never before had I really wanted to travel (besides a road trip across Canada) but we had both just gotten out of serious relationships and wanted to leave. Her family is from NZ and she lived here while she was a toddler and wanted to go back for a visit. I decided to tag along. I also decided to extend my trip by doing a 6 month course in Perth, Australia. I was very much at a point where I had NO IDEA what I wanted to do with life so I thought this would be a good starting point.

I have two distinct memories from that trip that have ended up being the reasons I travel/move:

Sitting on the side of a road in Bali, in the pouring rain, eating chocolate fruit, and wearing the same clothes for the past week with a girl from South Africa I had met on my course.

I remember thinking to myself “How did I end up here…doing this?”
It was the first time I realised that travel wasn’t just getting on a plane, arriving at a new place, walking around for a bit, then going home. I can’t really explain what clicked in my head but I decided that travel was not only really important to me, but necessary.
I need to be in new places, experiencing new things, broadening my view of the world, and constantly learning and changing from it.
This is why travel is a high priority on my list. I’d much rather use my money on travel than buying a house (for now anyway), a car, or saving for a wedding (Hello, eloping on a beach! Mom, this is your warning so you can’t be upset if it happens). I will carry my future children all around the world with me because it’s POSSIBLE and important for me and for them. I will make sure that I go on at least one trip a year when I (eventually) settle down.

Travel is not just what I do, it is part of who I am.

Meeting Matt

Because, obviously. Our relationship might seem complicated with the whole ‘being from different countries’ thing, but it’s actually quite simple.

Matt sent me this article from one of his favourite travel blogs. The author explained it better than I ever could:

“I’m here because I met someone who I want to marry and build a life with, family etc, but who was born on another continent. It’s geographically inconvenient in a sense, and it is a relationship that comes with a few logistical and bureaucratic complications, but I’m certain about it. It seems crucially important and extremely worthwhile to be right where I am on Earth right now.”

It may have taken a few bumps in the road to know for sure but, yes. I am certain about it. That means that where he goes, I go, and vice versa. My moving here was just the way it worked out at the time and it helps that I absolutely adore this country. Moving to London/UK isn’t something I’ve ever thought about doing, but it’s important to Matt and means lots of travel in a new place so I’m excited about it. Compromise means no one misses out and we both enjoy whatever we’re doing at the time.

So yes, these next few weeks will be stressful, busy and at times sad but they will also be exciting and worth it. After they’re over, the fun part begins.

4 thoughts on “Why am I doing this?

  1. Hi my darling Dayna,

    Follow your dreams and your passions and just take it one day at a time.Keep it simple and savor the moments. and most of all be patient. Am following you with such fervor and pretending that I too am travelling along with you on my computer as your guardian angel
    love you sweetheart
    hang in there
    hugs fr Grandma

    • Thank you, Grandma! Definitely trying to focus on and enjoy my last few weeks of being in NZ. I’m going to miss it when we leave!

      We’re definitely going to have to plan a little trip together at some point – I’d love to travel with you!! Love you too 🙂

  2. we commented on how you looked calmer and happier than we’ve ever seen you after our last Skype. after reading the above, we understand why. thanks for writing it. I think your head still wants to travel but your heart has found a home. you go girl!!!!!! Matt, you’re a lucky man.

    Love,
    Dad and Gail

    • Aww, thanks Dad and Gail. It’s true! I’m happy no matter where I am as long as Matt’s with me 🙂

      Love you both!

Leave a Reply

