Goodbye NZ!

So it’s our last day in NZ finally.

It seems like we have been leaving forever, especially for people at work (I gave quite extended notice so they would have plenty of time to find a replacement).  Each Monday in the lifts I’ve bumped into people who do a double-take and say “didn’t you leave last week?!”.

Well the last (surprisingly sad) day at work has finally come and gone.  I wasn’t expecting to be too sad about leaving work but now that I’ve left it for the last time I realise I will miss the place, and especially the people, quite a bit.

I hate goodbyes at the best of times.  I prefer to back slowly out the door while nobody’s looking and avoid the awkward, sad goodbyes altogether.  Now at least most of the goodbyes have either come and gone or been successfully avoided.  It helps that a lot of people we know are actually already in the UK or are on their way there too.

We’ve just got do the last bits and pieces of packing (currently everything does not seem to fit in our bags!) and then make sure we get to the airport by 4am tomorrow morning.  Yeah, not looking forward to waking up at 3:00am but oh well, we can sleep on the plane.  I will be setting three different alarms to make sure we don’t sleep in because I’m sure the first two will get turned off or thrown across the room at that time of the night.

Bring on Singapore tomorrow.  Bye New Zealand – hopefully we will see you again soon!

And as a final goodbye to NZ, here is my favourite old NZ photo of ours…

Dayna at the Mount

Dayna looking out from Mount Maunganui from a 2008 trip 

3 thoughts on “Goodbye NZ!

  1. Oh my goodness!! So excited for you guys!! Keep us posted and have a great time. I know I will be living vicariously through your posts. Loves ya 🙂

  2. I totally hear ya on setting multiple alarms when I have to get up at a ridiculously ungodly hour of the morning. I’m always so paranoid one of them won’t go off. Hopefully the morning won’t be too stressful or difficult. Safe travels,and looking forward to hearing of your next adventures!

Leave a Reply

