Distracting Myself with Travel Plans

Sunset

I have been struggling lately. I miss New Zealand immensely, I feel extremely unsettled, and (without going into too much detail on this public blog) a major aspect of my life is making me very grumpy (not Matt, just to clarify, we’re GOOD). Hopefully a change is on the horizon…

I’ve also started feeling like I have to do a lot of the things I want within the next couple years or I’ll never get around to doing them. I don’t know what brought it on but perhaps it’s because I’ve been putting them off for so long already or that my birthday is coming up and I always get all ‘AHH, I’VE JUST LOST ANOTHER YEAR!’

As usual, I have a plan/list and I’m going to start focusing on things that make me happy instead of sad.

One thing I will put on the London ‘pro’ list is that there is so much to DO here. Classes! Concerts (Florence and the Machine in December)! Comedy gigs! Canadian Thanksgiving dinner at the Maple Leaf pub! Cupcake decorating! And the list goes on and on. Weekends and evenings are quickly filling up and I’m loving it. Never in my life have I had so much going on that I’ve had to use a diary to keep track of it all (thanks be to Google calendar).

By now, you are aware of our 100 Things list. Just had a look at it again myself and had yet another ‘HOW ARE WE GOING TO GET ALL THESE THINGS DONE’ moment. We don’t even have 100 things on there yet! For some reason, I thought we had done more of them than we actually have.

Anyway, we have started to chip away at it and by the end of this year, we should have another 9 or 10 completed!

Our first Europe trip is a mere 6 days away. Unfortunately, it’s not to visit my cousin in Belgium cause we left it too late for tickets and she’s also busy with trips of her own! Hopefully early next year (how’s your 3rd weekend in January looking, Carrie?).

This will be the first of what I’m sure will be many trips to Italy. We’ll fly into Pisa and spend one night there before catching a train to Florence for 3 nights. Did you know Michaelangelo’s David is in Florence? We didn’t anyway. We plan on seeing that for sure and we’ve heard that biking around the area is really fun too. Plus it’s a good way to work off all that yummy Italian food and wine!

As I mentioned earlier, my birthday is coming up and we’ve got a group together to play paintball. I’m blissfully unaware of how much it’s going to hurt…

In October, we will be checking ‘drinking Champagne in Champagne’ off the list by spending a long weekend in Reims, France. We’ll be catching a train from London which I’m sure will be a beautiful trip. Still lots of research needed to figure out what else there is to do there but definitely looking forward to it.

November, we’ll be flying to Tromso, Norway to try our luck at seeing the Northern Lights. I’m probably the most excited about this trip cause there’s so much to do there! Ice fishing, dog sledding, and waiting around in the snow with a hot drink for the lights to start flickering.

Did you know that Norway is really expensive? Like, $12 USD for ONE small beer expensive. And we’ve also heard that the food isn’t very good so we’ll be living on the 2 minute noodles we brought with us, I think.

Christmas plans are still up in the air. Originally, I wanted to go to Canada for a visit but flights at that time are expensive (and Matt has to work) so we’ll probably end up having a stay-cation. Depending on what our flatmates are doing, I’m playing with the idea of hosting a Christmas dinner with our friends who aren’t able to spend it with family. Never made Christmas dinner so it may be a bit of a challenge!

So those are the big things for us over the next few months. We’re already looking at things we can do next year as trains and flights are usually cheapest if booked 3-6 months in advance. There definitely is a bit of pressure we’ve put on ourselves to get quite a few of these things done, but the motivation is not just to tick items off the list. There are events besides travel that will come up in the next couple years (like getting a place to ourselves) and impact on our disposable income so we need to sort out the timing of these trips so we can accomplish them all. Plus, there’s nothing quite like the thrill of pressing the ‘Book Now’ button.

4 thoughts on “Distracting Myself with Travel Plans

  1. awww YAY. We are sitting down this weekend with the calendar and getting ready to hit some BOOK NOW buttons too! I can’t wait. You guys have inspired us!

    We are KEEN for Christmas too (ahem, totes inviting ourselves). I actually forgot to ask you that…I know a few people that are staying around so I would love to gather a few together and host (or help co-host as our flat is teeny) and cook up a storm for everyone…let’s talk/plan/send out christmas themed invites (am I getting too ahead of myself here?) 😉

    Fingers crossed for the changes you want xx

    • So happy that you two can start planning/doing some travel! Not getting ahead of yourself at all – definitely keen to plan something for Christmas. I’ll get my people to talk to your people 😉

  2. Did YOU know that Michaelangelo’s only statue outside Italy is in Belgium? In my favourite city of Bruges. January is good from here and you can confirm that December date in your agenda, I bought my ticke. 🙂

    • I did NOT. We’re thinking we may come stay with you for a couple days then go to Bruges and we’ve heard it’s amazing (you can come too if you want)! I’ll send you a message this weekend 🙂

      December is locked in. Let me know when to meet you as I’m sure you have some things you want to do while you’re here 🙂

Leave a Reply

